Green Onions in Containers

Green Onions
Green onions in used plastic bags.
Green onions in hanging plastic pots
Green onions in hanging plastic pots.

I wanted to show you my green onion plants. It’s one of the “must have spices” in our kitchen. And always an important spice for my noodle recipes. So, I planted just enough that will satisfy our needs.  I started out by planting  just a small part of the white stalk with roots which I bought from the supermarket. From then on, I am  no longer  spending money for green onions with the benefit of getting fresh produce.

When I needed some, I just cut  a part using scissors or knife, leaving the roots to grow back again.

Green onions in a plastic pot
Green onions in a plastic pot

I don’t  have a big space for gardening, We only have a small place. So most of my plants were planted in containers. I planted in used plastic bags, plastic pots, clay pots, or recycled containers.  I put strings on some of the light weight pots so I could hang them to keep them free from hoppers, slugs and snails.

These are my green onion plants.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Green Onions in Containers”

Leave a comment