Mung Bean Plant

Growing Mung Beans

I decided to plant mung beans or commonly known in my country as Mongo beans out of curiosity. I wanted to see what and how they will turned out as they mature as plants. I only see them as seeds and sprouts. I was thinking that maybe planting mung beans will be just an easy task because I remember myself sprouting these seeds when I was still in grade school but I really never get the chance to see them full-grown.

Mung beans are nutritious and rich in protein. We can have them  at a low price and a cup of these beans can feed the family. Both the seeds and sprouts are commonly served in a variety of  Filipino dishes. Makes a good dessert too, like Halo-halo.

I remember when I still lived with my parents, before my mother will add the cooked beans to her recipe, she will saved some for me in a bowl. When it cooled down, I will add crushed ice, powdered milk and brown sugar or sweetened milk if there’s no powdered milk available, but I liked it more with powdered milk.🙂

Flowers turning to seed pods.
Flowers turning to seed pods.

Okay, back to my plant. I soaked the seeds in water until it germinated before sowing it out in the prepared bed at the backyard, where it can get a full sun. And I was right with the thought that they were easy to take care of.

Mung Bean Plant
Some pods changed to color black first

The seed pods were hairy and becomes hardy and brittle as it matures.

Mung Bean Plant
I think they’re healthy.
Mung Bean Plant
Vigna sp. Member of legume family (Fabaceae)

They changed in color from green, turned to darker color, then to complete black. I had to tie them for support as they tend stoop down.  The black ones can be harvested and the shell  gets drier and brittle as it matures. You don’t want the seeds to explode and shattered on the ground. I placed the pods in a metal pan, and had it sun-dried, to remove the excess moisture.

Mung Bean Plant
The mature seed pods.

After drying I stored the beans in the jar, I was so happy with the experience, seeing this plants grow and being able to harvest them.

4 thoughts on “Growing Mung Beans”

  1. I’ve eaten them as cooked dried beans and as sprouts, never grown them, so I was interested to see the plants. Can you eat them fresh when they are young and immature, or do you always wait for them to dry as you show here?

    1. Hi Potter,
      I haven’t tried it. Hmm, never thought of that.🙂
      But the shell can’t be eaten even if it’s still young, it’s a bit hardy and hairy already.

      Have a nice day,
      Loty

      1. The hard and hairy pods certainly don’t sound very yummy🙂
        Perhaps the young mung beans would be too small to be bothered shelling and cooking. I was wondering if it was like peas – eat them fresh and young, or let them mature and dry, and then cook them up into the old fashioned pease pudding (or, heaven forbid, mushy peas!) Maybe I should try to grow some mung beans and try.

Leave a Reply

