Mt. Apo: Pluto Trail- Jump Off to Camp 1

The road to Pluto.
The road to Pluto.

Pluto trail was accessed via municipality of Bansalan, Davao del Sur for two hours from Davao City. When we were there, we took another hour of a motorcycle ride, then a long hike on the road. This was the first time that I brought my younger sister Prescilla with me. I used to take Moondays with me, the other younger sister of mine. We were all eight on this journey.  Leo also came with Sir Denz, his boss. As we were hiking, I enjoyed watching over those field of healthy green peas and green onions.  Some peas were getting out on the road that I really wanted to snatched one of them.🙂 At the end of the road we met Sir Denz’s porter named Blah’. I really like this guy, he’s full of energy and stories, one of the best porter I’ve known.

Vertical Farm

We spent half of the day trekking in an open trail of hills and farms. The heat was exhausting.

That's Blah' over there telling us that we should go over that watery cliff.
That’s Blah’ over there telling us that we should go over that watery cliff.
The carrot crunchers

Another field of carrots was on our sight and the generous farmer gave us plenty of his nice carrots, I think I added two kilo of it in my pack. Ha ha!. Yeah, I know that the extra weight will drag me down but I couldn’t say no to it and we were really enjoying munching those carrots while hiking over the hills🙂

Carrot break
Carrot break

Moving on, we journeyed through a seemingly like an unending open trail of hills, from scorching heat of the sun to the foggy and grassy slope. This is Pluto trail, one of the entry point of the country’s highest peak, Mt. Apo.

At around two o’ clock in the afternoon, we almost set an emergency camp in the hills, my sister was fainting and perspiring cold sweats . We stopped and after a long rest, her body regains strength and good to go. We pushed through because the hill was not a good site to camp.

There’s no water for cooking, it was very open and exposed to cold wind.

Some more carrots..

Moving forward, we passed the forest line and hit the first camp before dark. The sleep was uncomfortable because of the sun burnt neck, it hurts.

The next morning, I still had plenty of carrots. hehe. Even I and my sister had already eaten a lot of these carrots along the way, there’s still more left.

Camp 1
Camp 1

Everybody’s preparing to leave the camp and go for the summit.

2 thoughts on “Mt. Apo: Pluto Trail- Jump Off to Camp 1”

  1. I really enjoy your mountain expeditions, Loty. They are so different and fresh compared to mountain days in Britain. And carrots are very good for you.
    Cheers, Alen

Leave a Reply

