Bitter Melon/ Ampalaya Plant

Bitter Melon in My Yard Garden

Bitter Melon/ Ampalaya Plant
Bitter melon

Bitter Melon/ Ampalaya Plant

Bitter Melon/ Ampalaya Plant
Bitter melon flower

Bitter melon or popularly known as ampalaya in the Philippines tasted bitter. Hehe🙂 Seriously now…  I love it, it’s one of my favorite vegetable and it’s really good with omelette . Others, especially the kids don’t like the bitter taste of it, so after chopping, the mother  will squeezed it with salt to extract and remove the bitterness. I like it  bitter where nutrients are not drained out. I tried it eaten raw, chopped with a dash of salt. This would also make a perfect blend for sinuglaw, a recipe of mixed grilled meat and fresh raw fish cured in vinegar, lemon and spices. The young shoots were also good for cooking, even the leaves, I can add it with any dishes, but not too much because it will overpower the taste of your recipe.

Bitter Melon/ Ampalaya Plant
Flower turning to fruit
Bitter Melon/ Ampalaya
Sliced bitter melon

Planting this tropical climbing vine them does not need any major preparations. I just used the seeds taken out from the bitter melon which I bought from the local supermarket. I sow the seeds on the spot where I wanted them to grow. The ones that grow at the back of our house turned yellowish in color and not looking healthy maybe because the area was too hot for them. 

My bitter melon plant keep on producing  fruit and my neighbors were also enjoying it. In just one seed there’s a lot of fruit to harvest. It’s worth to be planted in the yard.

2 thoughts on “Bitter Melon in My Yard Garden”

  1. I can imagine it must be wonderful to live there. So much grows and grows lush and green. Interesting melon. Lots of things about it to photograph.

Leave a Reply

